Commission D (Electronics and Photonics) Activity Report

April 2009-July 2009

July 31, 2009

Tadao Nagatsuma

Commission D finalized new fourteen (14) committee members in May, 2009. They are Prof. M. Izutsu (Tokyo Institute of Tech.), Prof. H. Ito (Kitasato University), Dr. K. Iwatsuki (NTT Service Integration Laboratories), Prof. Y. Umeda (Tokyo University of Science), Prof. T. Otsuji (Tohoku University), Prof. K. Kasahara (Ritsumeikan University), Dr. Y. Kado (NTT Microsystem Integration Laboratories), Prof. K. Kawase (Nagoya University), Dr. S. Kohjiro (National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology), Prof. E. Sano (Hokkaido University), Prof. K. Tsukamoto (Osaka University), Prof. H. Toda (Doshisha University), and Dr. I. Hosako (National Institute of Communications Technology). They are all experts in electronics and photonics technologies from materials, devices and circuits to integrated systems and applications.

Commission D technically sponsored the 6th workshop of Microwave and Millimeter-wave Photonics (MWP) Technical Group in the IEICE (Institute of Electronics, Information and Communications Engineers), which were held on April 17 (Friday), 2009 at Toranomon Pastral Hotel, Tokyo. Seven lecturers were invited to give their talks, which cover most topical areas in electronics and photonics; "Left-hand materials and their applications" by Prof. A. Sanada (Yamaguchi University), "Body-area communication technology" by Dr. M. Shinagawa (NTT), "Advances in the analog fiber link technology" by Prof. Paul Yu (UCSD), "On the development of radio waves at frequencies of over 275 GHz" by Dr. I Hosako (NICT), "Recent trends and issues in ultrahigh-speed wireless communications technologies" by Prof. T. Nagatsuma (Osaka University), "Sensor technologies supporting intelligent transport systems" by M. Nakamura (NISSAN), and "Future of microwave photonics technologies" by Prof. K. Yasukawa (Osaka Institute of Technology). In May 2009, the MWP technical group finalized new committee members including Profs. Nagatsuma and Tsukamoto as chair and vice chair, respectively, who are also involved in Commission D. In addition, Prof. Tsukamoto is a member of technical program committee of AP-RASC 2010. Thus, commission D will continue to co-work with this technical group in the IEICE.